top of page

Why I'm Making STARDROP


I have gotten a few questions about what motivates me to make a game, or STARDROP in this case. I decided to take a small pause and talk about why in this blog.

There are a lot of reasons why I am making STARDROP but the first two major reasons are because of my wife and my daughter.

My wife is not a gamer in the traditional sense. She doesn't play games constantly, actually she hasn't played much at all lately but she loved the Zelda games, especially Twilight Princess. Her favorite game however is Syberia, I can understand why.

My daughter is turning three years old tomorrow... Three years came and went and it seems like it was just yesterday that she was born... As any parent, I love her to death. She's probably the single most important thing in my life, next to my wife of course.

So, what does thishave to do with STARDROP, you might ask. Well, everything. They are the two that have driven how I approached the game from a design perspective. In short I wanted to make a game that both of them would enjoy.

I didn't want to include violence because I wanted to make a game that can be played by a younger audience. I noticed that games aimed at that demographic are usually very cartoonish or silly and I wanted to make a game that they could play, while keeping a more mature look and feel. I wanted to treat them as equals to adults in a way.

This philosophy is also prevalent in the writing. I'm trying to keep things light hearted and fun while touching on important subjects without trying to preach. The aim of the main story is an important one that I cannot yet talk about since, well, the game is still in development. But by the end of the story it should be obvious and other subject matters will have been touched upon throughout the adventure.

I'm a dad now and I don't want my daughter to remember me as that guy who made a zombie game, I want her to remember her dad, who wanted to teach her some important things the best way he knew how, making a game with some important advice and a lot of fun... Time will tell if I did the right thing...


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • indiedb
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • twitch-512
bottom of page